DUI Lawyer for New Hampshire or Massachusetts
A DUI charge can be frightening and can create a great deal of anxiety and stress. The consequences can include high fines, loss of your driver’s license, and even jail time. If you have a DUI charge, you should know there is no such thing as an open and shut case. Regardless of the situation, you deserve to pursue defense options that may minimize the charge’s impact or result in a DUI charge’s dismissal.
First and Second DUI Offense in New Hampshire or Massachusetts
If you face a first or second offense DUI charge in Hillsborough County, it is crucial to be aware of the legal consequences you may be facing. It is also vital to secure legal representation that can minimize those consequences.
DUI Third Offense Attorney in New Hampshire or Massachusetts
If it is a third DUI offense, the consequences can affect nearly every aspect of your life, including your finances, job, and freedom. If you have a third offense DUI charge, you need a dedicated and skilled Hillsborough County and Middlesex County legal advocate in your corner like Annutto Law.
Massachusetts and New Hampshire Drug Possession Defense
A drug possession charge can have serious legal consequences. Depending on the type of drug, the amount in your possession, and any other convictions, a drug possession charge can affect every aspect of your life. Our experienced Nashua and Woburn criminal defense lawyers can fight to protect your rights, reduce the charge and minimize the impact on your future.
Types of Drug Charges & Penalties in Hillsborough County or Middlesex County
Drugs such as cocaine, heroin, and certain prescription drugs with a high rate of addiction are treated more harshly by the law.
A first offense drug possession charge for the drugs listed can pursue as a Class B felony. This charge can be punishable with up to seven years in prison and a fine of $25,000. Depending on the situation, this charge may be plea bargained down to probation.
A second offense drug possession charge can be filed as a Class A felony. This offense can lead to up to 15 years in prison and a fine of $50,000. A drug possession charge can also lead to treatment program requirements.
Marijuana Decriminalized in New Hampshire or Massachusetts
“New Hampshire has decriminalized marijuana. There is no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal use. The conduct is treated like a minor traffic violation.” — NORML
The current New Hampshire laws for possession include:
- Any person age 18 or older who possesses less than three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana is guilty of a violation and may be fined $100. Fines rise for third and fourth offenses.
- The same fines apply to anyone over 21 years old who has a personal use amount of marijuana-infused products including edibles, drinks, tinctures and ointments.
- Possession of more than three-quarters ounce is a misdemeanor. Punishment may be up to 1 year in prison and a fine of no more than $350.
In Massachusetts, marijuana is legal for people 21 and older, but that doesn’t mean you can use it anywhere you want.
Some of the basics about the law in Massachusetts include:
- You can’t use marijuana in any form (smoking, vaping, edibles, etc.) in public or on federal land.
- You can have up to 1 oz on you and up to 10 oz in your home.
- You can grow up to 6 plants in your home, and up to 12 plants for 2 or more adults.
- If you have more than 1 oz of marijuana in your home, it has to be locked up. But it’s best to keep any amount locked away to keep kids and pets safe.
- Like alcohol, you can’t have an open container of any form of marijuana in the passenger area of your car while on the road or at a place where the public has access. It must be stored in a closed container in your trunk or a locked glove compartment.
- It’s illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. If you use, don’t get behind the wheel. Instead, use public transportation, ride-shares, or catch a ride with a sober friend.
- Employers, landlords, cities, and towns may have their own policies about the use of marijuana. Check with them to see what their policies are.
Assault and Battery Attorney in New Hampshire and Massachusetts
If you have an assault charge, you need immediate legal assistance to understand the consequences and possible defense options. Annutto Law Office can be your source for skilled and competent representation to help you get the most favorable outcome for your assault and battery case in Hillsborough County and Middlesex County.
Simple assault is a misdemeanor charge. This charge can be filed even without physical contact or bodily harm. A display of force or threat can lead to a simple assault charge. Simple assault filing is standard if there has been a fight, such as hitting and pushing. A conviction can lead to 12 months in jail and a $2,000 fine.
First-degree assault is a class A felony legally defined as actions purposely causing bodily injury or assault with a deadly weapon. Assault can also be the first-degree charge if it caused a miscarriage or the victim was under 13 years old. First-degree assault is a severe charge, and a conviction can lead to extensive prison time. You could face years in prison and hefty fines if convicted.
Second-degree assault is a Class B felony defined as purposely causing bodily injury or assault with a deadly weapon and showing extreme indifference to life’s value. Negligently causing injury or your victim being under 13 years old can also lead to a second-degree assault charge. Strangulation can fall under second-degree assault, also. A second-degree assault conviction can lead to prison time and fines if convicted.
Other types of assault charges in New Hampshire and Massachusetts include domestic violence, sexual assault, assault on a police officer, and vehicular assault. These charges can have various consequences depending on the circumstances.
If you are facing any level of an assault charge in Nashua, New Hampshire, Woburn, Massachusetts, or surrounding areas, you need an attorney like Annutto Law, who can fight to protect your rights and put the best defense plan into action.
Criminal Charges in New Hampshire and Massachusetts
New Hampshire Felony Charge in New Hampshire and Massachusetts
Felony charges are the most severe class of criminal charges anyone can face. There is a wide range of possible penalties and sentences that can come about depending on the exact nature of the charge. Regardless of what type of felony, a felony charge can have an immediate impact on many areas of your life.
Massachusetts and New Hampshire Misdemeanor Charge Laws
A misdemeanor charge can apply to a wide range of behaviors or actions. If you have a misdemeanor charge, it is vital to understand the potential legal consequences. Regardless of the exact nature of the charge, an expert New Hampshire and Massachusetts criminal defense attorney can lead to a maximum of one year in jail. There are also fines associated with a misdemeanor or lead to a loss of a New Hampshire or Massachusetts driver’s license.
Annulment of Criminal Records in New Hampshire and Massachusetts
Everyone deserves a second chance. If you have a criminal conviction in Massachusetts and New Hampshire, you might seek your criminal record to be annulled. This annulment is a legal process that can essentially give you the fresh start you deserve and can help you put your past behind you. Annutto Law Office can review your situation and pursue an annulment of criminal records to move forward with a clean record.
Annutto Law Office is here to support your Massachusetts and New Hampshire legal needs with estate planning, family law, bankruptcy, criminal defense, and personal injury representation. We offer legal advice with experience you can trust in Hillsborough County, Middlesex County, and surrounding area communities. Joseph Annutto and his expert legal team welcome you to contact us to learn more about how our Nashua and Woburn law firm can help meet your criminal defense case goals.